Skip to main content

Please consider a donation to the ACYCP.    DONATE

P.O. Box 510423
Milwaukee, WI 53203
CONTACT        Voice: 414-519-3130

ACYCP Dr. Carol Kelly Newcomer's Award


Carol S. Kelly, a professor emeritus at California State University, Northridge’s [CSUN] Department of Child and Adolescent Development (CADV), was an early founder of ACYCP and a pioneer in the field of Child and Youth Care work (CYC). She had a passion for mentoring students and laid the foundation for what the CADV department is today. Carol brought CSUN its first Peace Expo in 1989, re-established the CADV department’s alumni chapter in 2005, and established the Carol S. Kelly Endowment Scholarship in 2006. She also received numerous awards including the CSUN Alumni Association’s Dean Ed Peckham Award in 2009, the Don Dorsey Excellence in Mentoring Award in 2014, and the Lifetime Professional Achievement Award from ACYCP in 2016.

Sadly, Carol passed away on February 17, 2017 following a brief illness. This award honors Carol’s years mentoring current and former students who were newly entering the Child and Youth Care profession. The award was established by ACYCP and sponsored by 1st Vice President, Michael Mitchell, in March of 2017.

Description and Criteria

To honor the memory of an early founder of ACYCP and a pioneer in the field of Child and Youth Care work (CYC), ACYCP is offering an exciting opportunity for members to nominate a colleague for their early achievements and contributions to the profession. The award consists of an engraved plaque and a public announcement. You know your colleagues best, so we welcome your input and participation in both the awarding and in the evolution of this award.

Nomination Criteria

  • Nominees and nominators must both be current ACYCP members or become one.
  • Nominees must have a minimum of 3 years paid experience.
  • Nominators may consist of more than one person, but at least one nominator must be an ACYCP member.
  • Nominators may submit more than one nomination, but on separate nomination forms.
  • Nominees may come from any area of the broad child and youth care profession.
  • Nominees may come from any level of practice (ex. direct care, research, administration, supervision, etc.).
  • Nominees may reside or practice in any part of the world.
  • Finalist nominations are reviewed and a winner selected by the ACYCP Board of Directors.
  • Nominations are coordinated and vetted by the ACYCP Executive Board.
  • Winners are only eligible for one award.
  • Nominees hereby consent to their nomination and any related publicity.
  • Nominators hereby consent to any publicity related to their nomination submission(s).
  • Award finalists will be notified prior to the selection of a winner.
  • The award announcement and/or presentation will be made by the ACYCP President, at a time and/or place of the ACYCP
  • Board’s choosing. The award winner need not be present to qualify.

Award Criteria

Nominations, with supporting documentation, will be evaluated on the following basis:
What has the nominee done for children and youth as a student, or in their personal life?
Of what CYC organizations has the nominee been a member?
Has the nominee served on any CYC committees, special projects or boards?
What paid positions has the nominee held during their CYC career?
Does the nominee hold ACYCP’s Certification?
What has the nominee done towards professional development and life-long learning?
This is an excellent way to demonstrate recognition and appreciation for a wide range of service, leadership and experience that are not always recognized in the day-to-day CYC job performance.

Nomination Process/Form

Click here to nominate someone

Past Recipients

2023 Dr. Carol Kelly Newcomer Award
Katie Roelecke, Marion County Commission on Youth (Indiana)

2021 Dr. Carol Kelly Newcomer Award
Jamie Scott, Edna Martin Christian Center (Indiana)
Keith Monfreda, Indiana Out of School Time

2020 Dr. Carol Kelly Newcomer Award
Christen Lynette Peterson and Erin Busk, Indiana Department of Education, 21st Century Community Learning Centers

2019 Dr. Carol Kelly Newcomer Award
Presented to: Karla Jimenez (California)
Presented to: Eric (Obi) Uwagboi (California)
Presented to: Melita Carter (Indiana)
Presented to: Emma Carter (Indiana)

2018 Dr. Carol Kelly Newcomer Award
Presented to: Jan Smither (Indiana)
Presented to: Ryan Sims (Indiana)

2017 Dr. Carol Kelly Newcomer Award
Presented to: Jermaine Woods (Wisconsin)